Mayor & Council

Borough Council is the legislative body of the Borough. It is comprised of seven members, each elected at large for four-year overlapping terms. After each general municipal election (i.e. every two years), Borough Council is reorganized and a Council President is selected from among members to preside over Council meetings and other events. In addition, during the biennial organizational meeting, members elect among themselves a chairman and vice-chairman for the following committees: Community Planning/Quality of Life, Employee Relations/Citizen Participation, Finance, Parks & Recreation, Public Safety, and Public Works. The primary duties of Borough Council include adoption of the annual budget, the establishment of policies for the conduct of Borough affairs, the enactment of ordinances and resolutions for the protection of the public’s safety and welfare, and approval of contracts and bids. Furthermore, Council’s responsibilities include the appointment of the Borough Manager and other respective officials, along with members of various municipal boards and commissions.

The Mayor, elected at large to a four-year term, is primarily responsible for the public safety of the community with emphasis on law enforcement and the day-to-day oversight and administration of the police department. The Mayor also reviews each ordinance and resolution of a legislative nature enacted by Borough Council, and can sign it, veto it, or permit it to become law without signature. The Mayor has the authority to break a tie vote of Borough Council. Another function of the office is to serve as spokesman for the community and to represent the Borough at various civic and social activities.


Tim Scott, Mayor

Mayor Tim Scott was elected to the Carlisle Borough Council in 2001 and was reelected in 2005 and in 2009.  In 2014 he was elected as Mayor of Carlisle.  A 1988 graduate of Carlisle High School, Tim received his Bachelor’s degree in Political Science from Old Dominion University in 1992. Tim is currently employed by the PA House of Representatives where he serves as Research Associate.  Tim has worked for the House of Representatives since June of 2000.  In addition to his duties as a forth-term member of the Council, Tim serves as a volunteer for numerous non-profits in Carlisle, including the Hope Station Neighborhood Advisory Council, the Carlisle Regional Performing Arts Center, First Night Carlisle, and the Carlisle Disc Golf Association.  Tim’s priorities on Council include continuing the revitalization of Carlisle’s downtown, improving the quality of life for all Carlisle residents through traffic calming, decreasing the cost of Carlisle government operations, and investing in Carlisle’s infrastructure.  Tim’s current term expires in 2017.

To contact Mayor Scott, you may email him at

Back To Top

Sean Shultz, Deputy Mayor

Deputy Mayor, Sean Shultz was elected to the Carlisle Borough Council in 2013, and had previously filled a vacancy on council in 2005 before serving an elected, four-year term from 2008 through 2011.  Sean has been the president of the Carlisle Volunteer Firefighters Association since 2012, and he is a member of the Carlisle Fire Department through his membership with Carlisle Fire and Rescue Services.  Sean earned his Juris Doctor at the Penn State-Dickinson School of Law.  As an attorney with the Carlisle firm of Saidis, Sullivan & Rogers, Sean works in Downtown Carlisle.  He has served our community as a volunteer for numerous organizations, including president of Carlisle Summerfair, president of the American Literacy Corporation, and with the United Way.  Sean is the chairperson of Council’s Sustainability and Community Planning Committee and serves as vice-chair of the Employee Relations and Citizen Participation Committee.  Sean’s current term expires December 31, 2017.

Mr. Shultz values thoughtful input from any source and any perspective.  To contact him, you may email him at

Back To Top

Dawn Flower

Councilor Dawn Flower was elected to office in 2012. Ms. Flower currently serves as the Chair on the Employee Relations/Citizen Participation Committee and also serves as a committee member on the Parks and Recreation Committee. Dawn has an MBA from Penn State, an MA in Personnel Administration and Industrial Relations degree from St. Francis College, and a BS in Education from WVU. Dawn has resided in Carlisle for 29 years and enjoyed being a part of the restoration of several historic Carlisle residences  including her first home on East High Street. Dawn has been an active community volunteer since moving to Carlisle. Currently she serves on the Employment Skills Center Board of Directors, the Marketing Committees of Hope Station and Sadler Heath Center, and the Membership Committee of the Greater Carlisle Chamber of Commerce. Ms. Flower has professional experience in the senior care, personnel recruiting, non-profit, and record research industries. She is currently proving management support to Flower Law, LLC and other family owned businesses. Ms. Flower’s Council term expires December 31, 2015.

To contact Ms. Flower, you may email her at

Back To Top

Robin Guido

Councilor Robin Guido was elected to her first term in 2012.  Ms. Guido is employed by Burick Center for Health and Wellness as a registered nurse.  Prior to that, Ms. Guido worked or volunteered as a firefighter, EMT, deputy coroner and a dispatcher for both Cumberland County 9-1-1 Center and the Carlisle Borough Police Department.  Ms. Guido volunteers her time for the Carlisle Area Health and Wellness Foundation’s grant committee.  Ms. Guido serves as the Chair on the Parks and Recreation committee and also serves as a committee member on the Public Safety Committee.  Her current term expires December 31, 2015.

To contact Ms. Guido, you may email her at

Back To Top

Perry Heath

Perry Heath was first elected to Borough Council in 2005 and was re-elected to a second term in 2009 and his third term in 2014. He is employed as the Director of Business Development for R. S. Mowery & Sons, Inc.  He was elected President of Council in January 2014.  Mr. Heath is a past chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Carlisle Area Health and Wellness Foundation (2007 – 2009), immediate past chairman of the Board of Directors of the Greater Carlisle Area Chamber of Commerce 2010 – 2012, a member of the Advisory Board of The Salvation Army and the Carlisle Sunrise Rotary Club. His current Council term will expire on December 31, 2017.

To contact Mr. Heath, you may email him at

Back To Top